Evolution of a Relationship (In the words of Lennon and McCartney)

I wrote this a while ago, before I had a blog. Sharing with you all now. All words copyright of Lennon/McCartney.

Evolution of a Relationship
In the words of Lennon and McCartney

Meeting
And please, say to me 
You’ll let me hold your hand

Contact
And when I touch you I feel happy inside

Infatuation
Close your eyes and I’ll kiss you
Tomorrow I’ll miss you

Love, Phase I
I can’t explain, the feeling’s plain to me, say can’t you see?
I love you

Love Phase II
She says *she* loves *you*!
And you know you should be glad!

Love Phase III
Love is all you need

Love Phase IV
Woman I will try to express
My inner feelings and thankfulness
I love you
Now and forever

Resentment
I don’t wanna sound complaining
But you know there’s always rain in my heart
I do all the pleasing with you
It’s so hard to reason with you
Why do you make me blue?

Sadness
Though tonight she’s made me sad
I still love her
If I find her I’ll be glad
I still love her

Codependence
My life has changed in oh so many ways
My independence seems to vanish in the haze
But every now and then I feel so insecure
I know that I just need you like I’ve never done before

Quarreling
You say yes, I say no
You say stop, I say go
You say high, I say low
You say why, I say I don’t know

Communication breakdown
When I call you up
Your line’s engaged
I can’t get through
My hands are tied
We have lost the time
That was so hard to find
And I will lose my mind
If you won’t see me

The end is near
Here I stand head in hand
Turn my face to the wall
If she’s gone I can’t go on
Feeling two-foot small

The end
And in her eyes you see nothing
No sign of love behind the tears
Cried for no one
A love that should have lasted years

Carrying on
And when the night is cloudy
There is still a light that shines on me
Shine on till tomorrow
Let it be

4 thoughts on “Evolution of a Relationship (In the words of Lennon and McCartney)

Leave a Reply

